scrimshaw: friend or faux?

3 Mar

I’m pretty sure wearing scrimshaw is considered akin to wearing baby seal but I can’t help it, I’m obsessed. And I’ll snuggle right up in my excuse that makes me feel better about wearing fur. I only wear vintage and if it’s been dead for longer than it would have been alive had it died a natural death then it’s probably OK. I know, I know. If I wear animal then I am perpetuating the style and potentially encouraging others to buy new fur, etc. but my ego is not that large. That would be like me thinking I’m Kate Moss or something.

The other thing is that if you are of my demographic (not a society lady) people generally assume that your fur is faux even if it obviously is not. Aaaand, as long as people wear Ugg boots without protesters assaulting them then I am going to hold my ground. Uggs are sheep, people. Sheeeeeeeep!

Anyway, here are my treasured scrimshaw rings and some pieces that I would like to have…

R-L: one that my dad gave my mom, it used to have roses but the color came off, definitely real; an great bird of prey (hawk? falcon?) one I got on ebay, not sure if it's real; a little ram one I just recently got on ebay, also not sure if it's real.

love this 'Raven' ring, but I think it's really a Coho Salmon

 

an interesting hair pin on ebay

Buddy Holly pendant? Amazing.

Leave a Reply

