supersonic

2 Mar

You see, the ‘S’ is for super, and the ‘U’ is for unique
The ‘P’ is for perfection and you know that we are freaks
The ‘E’ is for exotic, and the ‘R’ is for raps
So tell those nosy people just to stay the hell back

Could this please be the new jingle for all products that feature “Sonic” something-something?

So far this year I got us all sonicare toothbrushes & just got a really cute pastel orange Clarisonic skincare brush from Amber. I’m sold. Please say the ability to sonically remove debris from my life doesn’t stop here… maybe I need a sonic sink spray head to more effectively rinse my dishes, or could sonic technology get that pesky Northwest-winter-musty-odor out of my bath towels? (please!)

Here are my real reviews:

Sonicare Toothbrushes- The dental hygienist pressured me into this purchase. She fed me some repetitive line about how it only takes 12 hours for something-something to happen in your mouth. She said it like 10 times and I started to think it might be her nervous tick. Anyway, the notion burrowed it’s way into my brain and here we are with 3 expensive toothbrushes. Luckily we like them. I feel like it sort of makes up for the fact that at least once a week I am too tired to brush my teeth before bed. But the real star is the little kids sonicare. Man. It makes brushing Hondo’s teeth so much easier. It’s tinier so it’s easier to get the back teeth and you don’t jab your kid in the gums because you don’t have to use such vigorous motion to do a good job. Seriously. Worth it.

Clarisonic- My Kate Somerville ‘Exfolikate’ exfoliating treatment dried up. I think they updated the packaging since then because of this. I was only half way through the jar and it turned so thick that I had to forcibly open it up and add water in order for it to be viscous enough to come out of the spout. Anyway, needless to say, I haven’t been exfoliating lately. Then I was reading on Yahoo something about the hidden signs of aging or some such thing that said dullness=oldness so use a skinbrush. At the same time we were making Clarisonic signs at work. Working in a signshop is funny because you are constantly researching products to verify pricing, enhance copy, etc. and you find yourself learning a lot about things you don’t care about. Like self-tanner. Then you are your own casualty of advertising and start to think you need these things. Luckily Amber has meetings with cosmetic big-wigs once a week and sometimes reaps the benefits of gratis (gratis=free stuff from vendors). She had this little Clarisonic that I had just become so familiar with at her desk. “Where’d you get that??” I asked. “In a meeting, do you want it?” Cue “that’s what friends are for” by Dionne Warwick.

Leave a Reply

