I heart everyday food

8 Dec

Last year for Christmas Mike got me Julia Child’s ‘Mastering the Art of French Cooking’ and Hondo’s Celiac diagnosis came like one week later. We joked that I would start a blog about making a gluten-free version of everything in her cookbook which would later be turned into a blockbuster chick-flick beloved by the food-allergy crowd. More realistically I might share with you gluten-free versions of my favorite Everyday Food recipes. Have you ever looked at this little digest sized magazine in line at the grocery check-out? You should. I don’t think I have ever made anything bad from their recipes. Plus, they are really easy to convert to gluten-free. They even have a ton of inherently gluten-free recipes to begin with. Also, there is a voracious following for this magazine. In mint condition issue #1 goes for $50 on ebay!

Here are my two main tips, I’ll elaborate more later on specific recipes:

  • Make any pasta recipe with Ancient Harvest Quinoa Pasta, it’s less likely to turn mushy than rice pastas, more nutritional (quinoa is referred to a supergrain because of it’s high protein content) and I think a little lower on the glycemic index than rice pasta. At least it seems to be for Hondo. Oh and it’s pronounced “Keen-Wa” in case you are afraid to try things you can’t pronounce.
  • If you are going to bake or dredge something in flour you can mix some different flours without creating your own blend of 12 different $10 per lb. flours. If you use the Bob’s Redmill all purpose GF flour your end product might taste like bean paste (I think it’s heavy on the garbanzo). If you mix half of any all purpose gluten-free flour (I like ones with some xanthan gum or guar gum in them) with Bob’s Red Mill white rice flour & some almond meal from Trader Joe’s you will end up with a more neutral tasting and lower carb end product.
Leave a Reply

