big-boy bed

5 Dec

It’s official… Hondo is asleep right this minute in his own bed.

Shhhh, here is what he looks like right now:

I took this photo with my personal night vision modification, meaning I held out a tiny book light while letting the shutter on my camera stay open forever (on a tripod).

Do you need any tips about buying a new bed for your little one? Here is what I  figured out:

1. Buy a frame on craigslist. This one was $25. Bed frames can’t really get cooties.

2. Buy the mattress new. Mattresses can and do get cooties.

3. Check out Sears. We got this mattress for $169, it was originally $300-something. New crappy mattresses at the Goodwill are $159 and they are way less cushy than this one. Everything else I looked at was either a comparable price for a flimsy 70’s motel quality or $300+.

4. If you have the means, ask if you can pick it up from the distribution center yourself (thank you Edith for my lovely 1993 GMC Safari maxi-van). This saved us a $70 delivery fee.

5. Go to Ross for sheets. I had my heart set on some cute red & white geometric Tommy Hilfiger sheets at Macy’s and then I found some slightly different red & white Tommy Hilfiger sheets for $11.99 at Ross, for the whole set.

Now the only thing I didn’t really figure out, what happens if Hondo wakes up? I didn’t tell him that I wouldn’t be spending the whole night in there. Hopefully he doesn’t freak if he wakes up and has to come to our room… we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it.

Leave a Reply

